Being A Christian And A Democrat. I’m So Blue :)

I Dislike Politics (I need to start using the word dislike more).

The arguments

The name calling

The shouting

The Accusations

Slander

Finger Pointing

Sheesh

I post a long status on my Facebook to my few friends. I only have 37. Yeah, only 37 because I got a new page and I can’t stand people who act like a bunch of jerks. No wonder China banned social media.

Anyways, I posted the video below and I would say the video is exactly how I feel about the matter. In fact, now that I look at it, experiencing the “hate” for being a democrat is really what turned me away from church in the first place

It seems the 2 biggest issues are abortion and gay-marriage. OK, here’s my take on it.

If gay-marriage really jeopardizes the institution of marriage than why do so many Christians get divorced? Ya know, I’m seeing gay people ready and willing to meet that commitment but divorce still exists in our country. OK, yeah, so it’s not really about the institution of marriage at stake, it’s really that Christians should be saying no to gay-marriage.

But I mean, don’t we live in America? The whole reason for the push of gay-marriage is because they don’t have the rights and in order to have the certain rights they’re looking for it requires them to be married.

Now, I’m a straight guy. I don’t really support gay-marriage, but I’m not totally opposed to it neither. In fact, I am just going to say that if homosexuality is that bad then just don’t do it. Someone supporting gay-marriage doesn’t mean they are saying go out and sleep with the same sex.

Abortion

If Christians are saying that it’s unBiblical to kill babies

well

have they really read the Bible?

I’m using the ESV and here’s Numbers 5:11-31

11 And the Lord spoke to Moses, saying, 12 “Speak to the people of Israel, If any man’s wife goes astray and breaks faith with him, 13 if a man lies with her sexually, and it is hidden from the eyes of her husband, and she is undetected though she has defiled herself, and there is no witness against her, since she was not taken in the act, 14 and if the spirit of jealousy comes over him and he is jealous of his wife who has defiled herself, or if the spirit of jealousy comes over him and he is jealous of his wife, though she has not defiled herself, 15 then the man shall bring his wife to the priest and bring the offering required of her, a tenth of an ephah[a] of barley flour. He shall pour no oil on it and put no frankincense on it, for it is a grain offering of jealousy, a grain offering of remembrance, bringing iniquity to remembrance.

16 “And the priest shall bring her near and set her before the Lord. 17 And the priest shall take holy water in an earthenware vessel and take some of the dust that is on the floor of the tabernacle and put it into the water.18 And the priest shall set the woman before the Lord and unbind the hair of the woman’s head and place in her hands the grain offering of remembrance, which is the grain offering of jealousy. And in his hand the priest shall have the water of bitterness that brings the curse. 19 Then the priest shall make her take an oath, saying, ‘If no man has lain with you, and if you have not turned aside to uncleanness while you were under your husband’s authority, be free from this water of bitterness that brings the curse. 20 But if you have gone astray, though you are under your husband’s authority, and if you have defiled yourself, and some man other than your husband has lain with you, 21 then’ (let the priest make the woman take the oath of the curse, and say to the woman)‘the Lord make you a curse and an oath among your people, when the Lord makes your thigh fall away and your body swell. 22 May this water that brings the curse pass into your bowels and make your womb swell and your thigh fall away.’ And the woman shall say, ‘Amen, Amen.’

23 “Then the priest shall write these curses in a book and wash them off into the water of bitterness. 24 And he shall make the woman drink the water of bitterness that brings the curse, and the water that brings the curse shall enter into her and cause bitter pain. 25 And the priest shall take the grain offering of jealousy out of the woman’s hand and shall wave the grain offering before the Lord and bring it to the altar. 26 And the priest shall take a handful of the grain offering, as its memorial portion, and burn it on the altar, and afterward shall make the woman drink the water. 27 And when he has made her drink the water, then, if she has defiled herself and has broken faith with her husband, the water that brings the curse shall enter into her and cause bitter pain, and her womb shall swell, and her thigh shall fall away, and the woman shall become a curse among her people. 28 But if the woman has not defiled herself and is clean, then she shall be free and shall conceive children.

29 “This is the law in cases of jealousy, when a wife, though under her husband’s authority, goes astray and defiles herself, 30 or when the spirit of jealousy comes over a man and he is jealous of his wife. Then he shall set the woman before the Lord, and the priest shall carry out for her all this law. 31 The man shall be free from iniquity, but the woman shall bear her iniquity.”

I’m pretty sure this is an abortion. But wait! There’s more! And I’m pretty sure this is why women are not to be leaders in the church because women spoke up against the unjust actions that have been going on.

Here’s Numbers 31:15-18

15 Moses said to them, “Have you let all the women live? 16 Behold, these, on Balaam’s advice, caused the people of Israel to act treacherously against the Lord in the incident of Peor, and so the plague came among the congregation of the Lord. 17 Now therefore, kill every male among the little ones, and kill every woman who has known man by lying with him. 18 But all the young girls who have not known man by lying with him keep alive for yourselves.

Here’s Hosea 13:16

Samaria shall bear her guilt,
because she has rebelled against her God;
they shall fall by the sword;
their little ones shall be dashed in pieces,
and their pregnant women ripped open.

Here’s 2nd Kings 15:16

16 At that time Menahem sacked Tiphsah and all who were in it and its territory from Tirzah on, because they did not open it to him. Therefore he sacked it, and he ripped open all the women in it who were pregnant.

Here’s 1 Samuel 15:3

Now go and strike Amalek and devote to destruction all that they have. Do not spare them, but kill both man and woman, child and infant, ox and sheep, camel and donkey.’”

And here’s Psalms (of all books too!) 137: 8-9

O daughter of Babylon, doomed to be destroyed,
blessed shall he be who repays you
with what you have done to us!
Blessed shall he be who takes your little ones
and dashes them against the rock!

Sounds like baby killing in the Bible.

And with all do respect. If God ever tells me to kill women and children, I’m going to have to disobey. because I’m not doing it. (I edited out the curse word.)

Actually, I did a google search and I found this website

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/unreasonablefaith/2009/08/the-bible-is-pro-child-killing/

I just used my ESV to confirm the versus.

Here’s what I wrote in my status

I think I found the perfect video on an issue I have been struggling with for years! For years I have

 experienced more hate from Christians who are Republicans and hardcore about it. And what I mean by hate, I’m talking about the negativity, the slippery slope arguments, the antagonisms (being antagonized), cruel harsh words, accusations, questioning my faith and belief in God/Jesus, and slander. I generally vote Democrat because their values line up with mine. Yes, my favorite book of the Bible is Proverbs. I am not all that open about my faith because I don’t like confrontation and mundane arguments, but I also have an open mind which simply means I enjoy listening and learning from other people (And I guess as a drummer/musician, listening is an important key to effective communication and being a great musician. Not being over exertive to the point where you’re louder than the other person and the only way a person can get their views heard is if they yell. I don’t like to yell. You can’t play with other people if you can’t hear what they’re doing.) I’ve had my points of view attacked ever since I decided to come out of the shell and those attacks generally came from Christians. I don’t like the shell anymore. I’m sick and tired of not being myself just because someone thinks I’m going to hell. Yeah, I’m still an introvert but I miss being outgoing and talking about MY interests while everyone shares theirs. I raised my voice and yelled at someone because I was disgusted about how they told me voting for Democrat and being liberal meant I’m going to Hell. I remember I became more outgoing around 2008 and I expressed myself more on the fact that I do vote Democrat and I was going to vote for Barack Obama. I did vote for President Barack Obama, but I did vote for Hilary in the nomination (and don’t get me started on the disrespect men give towards women. I honestly cringe at the fact that a lot of men can’t control their sexual and lustful urges. Go spend some time out in the woods fellas. Women are PEOPLE, NOTsex toys…grrrr). And yes, I will be voting Democrat and for President Obama AGAIN!I don’t mind being called a Jesus freak or anything like that. In fact, I read that book by DC Talk. I also read Mere Christianity and The Screwtape Letters. I’ve met more non-Christians who are way more nicer than a lot of Christians. They even accepted the fact that I don’t like to drink alcohol and didn’t try to pressure me into drinking/getting drunk. Unlike some Christians I know who does drink who tries to shove the whole “A little alcohol won’t kill ya.” But I don’t like to drink because I just don’t like alcohol (That burning sensation? Funky feeling alcohol gives going down the throat? I don’t know how to describe it.) and has nothing to do with my faith.So what’s up with the hate and the non love? Seems like a lot more Christians are forgetting what Jesus said and haven’t been reading their Bible. If you “rightly divide the word of truth” yeah, I think homosexuality is a bit disgusting, but I also think other things are disgusting. Does that mean I should hate the person and keep on bringing up their sin and keep on saying they’re going to hell? No.

Like it says in Romans 14:3 Let not the one who eats despise the one who abstains, and let not the one who abstains pass judgment on the one who eats, for God has welcomed him. Who are you to pass judgment on the servant of another? It is before his own master that he stands or falls. And he will be upheld, for the Lord is able to make him stand.

Yeah, I think Chili and mushroom soup is disgusting. But I don’t go about raving about how disgusting Chili and Mushroom soup are. I don’t even joke around about it. I accept the person for eating Chili and mushroom soup. My favorite food to eat is sea food! I love sea food! Nothing wrong with that. Nothing wrong with having your favorite food for whatever reason and there’s nothing wrong for NOT eating something for whatever reason. The whole point is to not despise someone just because they eat a certain food. It’s weird how some people still despise others for what they eat and don’t eat and that verse in Romans was written how long ago?

And just because I don’t read the KJV or the NKJV doesn’t mean that the versions I read which are NLT and ESV (I read ESV the most) are from Satan and doesn’t say the same thing. It all says the same thing just a little bit worded differently. Maybe I just have a gift or talent to see that. Or maybe my fellow Christian brothers and sisters got exposed that they don’t really read the Bible? Or maybe they just decided to skip over all the parts that says to love others. I’m not going to say sorry for being a selfless person to the point where I think and care about other people and refuse to show any kind of hatred towards others.

And no, I’m not talking about tolerance. If it’s one thing I am intolerant about are Christians hating other people. I DO NOT TOLERATE HATE AND UNKINDNESS! There, I said it. I for one can’t stand it anymore and now that I look at it, I would say that’s why I decided to not attend church for awhile because I just don’t like the arguments and confrontation for being a Democrat and a Liberal, for caring about ALL people, for being a nerd, for being a huge Star Wars/Star Trek fan…

I didn’t get my Associates of Arts degree for nothing. It was around that time when I was questioning my faith, only because other people questioned my faith (only because I vote Democrat, like Star Wars, and read the NLT), where I needed to find another place for some answers besides hateful Christians who wouldn’t even let me ask any questions. That was when I decided to take up some Philosophy classes and then I changed my major to Religious Studies. The very first Philosophy class I ever took was Intro To Professional Ethics. I enjoyed it and stuck with it. Unlike my other Christian friends, to which I would say I lost friendship with them due to stupidity, they all told me to becareful majoring in Religious Studies. Why? I would say it strengthened my faith more because I decided to take the path less walked on. Why is it that a lot of Christians don’t want to pursue a career in Anthropology? One career I have in mind is to be an Asian ethnographer or an Asian Cultural Anthropologist. It doesn’t mean that I reject my faith and there are still creationist and evolutionist debates even in the field of Anthropology let alone Science vs Religion.

I don’t mean to be all preachy to other people neither. I for one don’t like to be preached at. Matthew 7 ESV says “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

“Do not give dogs what is holy, and do not throw your pearls before pigs, lest they trample them underfoot and turn to attack you.”

Maybe I should obey the last part and not give what is holy to dogs? For me, looking out for and helping the poor and the needy is something holy. Looking out for others and doing things together is something like a jar of awesome sauce. I mean, why bother going to Heaven and not practice getting along with other people here on Earth? Why spend an eternity in Heaven if me or other people are going to act like a bunch of douchebags. “Oh, but we’re just going to be worshiping God all day and everyday,” As most Christians say. Really? What about the new Heaven and new Earth? In Revelations 21 it says

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling placea of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and he will be my son. But as for the cowardly, the faithless, the detestable, as for murderers, the sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars, their portion will be in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur, which is the second death.”

And ya know what, my definition of sexually immoral runs deeper than just sex outside of marriage. What about rapists? I believe that Christians shot themselves in the foot and created a problem by saying that sexual immorality means sex outside of marriage. Now, in order to have sex you MUST be married. But so many people do get married and then end up with a divorce only because they lusted after each other sexually and didn’t want to get JUDGED for having sex outside of marriage. For me, it’s none of my business what people do in bed. Keep it to yourself. Please. I have virgin ears. But I honestly think a couple who loves each other and stays together, but still has sex outside of marriage, are not people who are sexually immoral.

Matthew 15:8 and 9 says
“‘This people honors me with their lips,
but their heart is far from me;
in vain do they worship me,
teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’”

I honestly believe that this is a huge problem in church and that a lot of Christians fight for. A lot of people are looking for the real deal but most who claim they are really are not. Excuse me for believing that questioning “authority” or questioning MEN is part of my discernment process to decide if it comes from God or not. No man has the authority to send me or anyone else to Hell so I’m going to question, wonder and ponder all I want. Just because “Pastor” is attached to your name doesn’t mean…well, I’ll just say I can only serve one master and despise the other.

My pearls, each and every individual pearl is an enrichment that I can give to help make the world a better place. I am in the planning process to start a band where we play nationally and give funds to charity. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll pursue my career and apply to UNLV. I haven’t started on it yet because I just want a good paying job to afford some stuff. That’s something that has been on my heart to do for a week now (not having a job and having an active mind = some interesting ideas). My pearls are symbolic for what I value. Yeah, there’s a lot of symbolism in the Bible. And for those who say people don’t get persecuted in America, just try living according to Jesus. Trust me, you’ll get persecuted often times from people who do go to church and who claims they read the Bible.

Leave a Reply

